So I spent the weekend in beautiful Ballarat being alternately inspired by speakers at the ALIA River of Opportunities seminar, and trying not to drown as the skies threw large amounts of rain at me.

(At the moment I am feeling pretty wretched so I think the rain may be claiming victory)

Saturday morning the conference proper kicked off at the Ballarat Hospital Education Resources Unit.

Fortified by an excellent coffee from CBD (coffee by design) just  down the block from the hospital I headed to the registration desk. The first person I saw was a borrower from ‘my‘ library; a regular booktalk attendee and a mad keen crime reader like myself.

She would be speaking later in the day on ‘life after libraries’ about her experiences in retirement (and podcasting).

It was also Royal South Street Eisteddfod time  (calisthenics) –  so many throwback memories to my childhood spent in Ballarat with hair in impossible curls, heavily made up, legtanned, in club uniform wandering round Ballarat.

