So I’m just back from a two week holiday in New Zealand.

It was supposed to be a 10 day break with 4 days of conferencing (LIANZA2015), one day of workshopping (ALA programs team), and one day of seminaring (Linked up, loud & literate).

That’s pretty much what happened although i did get a bonus day (sort of) when my flight home was delayed by 30 hours. (Still trying to sort out the travel insurance on that one.)

A week down the track and i am still trying to get my head and my ideas (and my notes) into some semblance of order for blogging.

Suffice to say the conference was mind blowingly awesome – i have ideas, and plans, and more ideas which i will blog about in the near future. (I told someone at work that I would need ‘all’ the innovation funding for the foreseeable future.)

Wellington was also amazing. The Stories of war exhibition at Te Papa; Old St. Paul’s, the beehive, the waterfront, the wind, the wind (did i mention the wind?).

The chocolate shops in Wellington; Butlers, De Spa, Schoc, Wellington choc factory (which had awesome chocolate but crap/rude customer service, (another choc shop near Rydges and the teddy bear shop whose name i have temporarily forgotten).

The food. My hotel was next to an international food court where over the course of the holiday i (alphabetically) ate my way round the world..

American bbq; Armenian, Chinese, Filipino, , Indian, Japanese, Korean, Thai, Vietnamese.

Not to mention the food at the Cuba St markets.

Then there were the coffee shops. kaffee eise, Flight hangar, memphis belle, gotham to name but a few. The best date scone ever at Wellington gallery. The best (but expensive) burger at Picnic in the Botanic gardens or good fast food burgers from Burger Fuel.

Wellington Library had 3 of the 4 dell shannon novels that I hadn’t read (an embarrassing admission for both of us i suspect). So a couple of evenings spent curled up on a bench in the library reading those was fun also.

Evita at the Opera House  (like i could go 2 weeks without seeing a musical!) and the sport. Wellington Phoenix vs Adelaide in the soccer.

And I am not mentioning the All Blacks who had their victory parade in Auckland (the day i was in auckland) and then in Wellington while I was at the Beehive.

And a safety announcement that includes earthquake & tsunami protocols.

Wellington I love you.

