I love Pinterest. I use it for all sorts of things.

I have boards set up for:

potential blogposts (good ideas),

theatre shows I’ve seen,

quotes I like,

Things i want for my birthday/xmas,

things i want to buy,

and many other things.

I like just being able to pin stuff to a board without any fuss or bother.

Tumblr, on the other hand, doesn’t really float my boat.

I can’t really give a concrete reason why – i just don’t enjoy using it all that much. One of my colleagues is just the opposite. She loves Tumblr but doesn’t really ‘get’ Pinterest.

Scoop.it is another app that i use sporadically. I like it and can see so many uses for it but I tend to be a bit lazy in my usage of it.

As far as using these apps in libraries…

My library has a tumblr account and has just started playing with Pinterest. We don’t use scoop.it but never say never. I can see it being a useful adjunct to our staff development blog (for example).

More apps to explore for work <insert evil laugh here>

