I’m writing this at Melbourne Airport. Gate 11A (International terminal).

I can see our plane out on the tarmac waiting for us to board but we are stuck inside behind black barriers watching small (and not so small) children run up the escalator, run down the escalator, run up the escalator, run down the escalator, run up the escalator, run down the escalator and so on and so forth.

I’m flying Jetstar so in a paper bag on the seat next to me is a plane box from Cafe Du Monde cotaining a meal suitable for taking on board. A roast beef baguette with caramelised onion, sun dried tomates and cos lettuce; a small paper bag containug hand cooked potato chips (crisps style); a dip for dipping the potato chips in;  a green bean salad and a slice of quince tart. $18 but quite worth it.

Here comes the announcement – passengers on rows 15-30 may now board. I’m in row 18 so ciao for now.

