My paternal grandfather  Edward Laurie (Mal) Malcolm grew up in Portland. When he moved to Melbourne he & my grandmother Bonnie (nee McFarlane) bought a house in West  Preston.

When my dad and later my uncle were born my grandfather wanted to be able to take them to the footy. The closest VFL team was Fitzroy who played their matches at the Brunswick Street oval.

And so began my dad’s lifelong membership of the Fitzroy  Football Club.

My grandad would take my dad & uncle to watch Fitzroy train on Thursday nights and to the games on Saturdays (there was no sunday football back then – there were 6 games on every saturday afternoon in Melbourne & Geelong).

My dad & uncle continued this tradition with their own kids.

My siblings & my paternal cousins all barracked for Fitzroy – a regular saturday afternoon in our childhood was meeting at the footy, watching Fitzroy play and then having a kick on the ground after the game.

And that’s why i barrack for Fitzroy.

