In the late 1980s Kew looked at automating (it was using a photocharging system).

Cos I was interested into computers – I’d written a library management system for my home computer (it ran on a 5 1/4 floppy disk.) I got on the committee that was investigating, evaluating, selecting & implementing an automated system.

This was really cool. I was studying librarianship at the time so it was really useful experience. When I completed my qualification I was offered (& accepted ) the job of Systems Librarian.

This was a great learning curve – for a newly qualified librarian  – to be involved in this project I learnt so much. I worked with some great people and saw first hand just how major projects should & could be managed.

All was going well until Jeff Kennett & Council amalgamations happened.

