I don’t remember when I decided I wanted to be a librarian – in fact as far back as I can recall I always wanted to work in a library.

I think we can blame the then East Doncaster Library for that…

Back when we were little tackers and living in Doncaster mum used to take us to the east Doncaster branch once a week to change our library books. TappingBetty, Son of Royboy & I would each choose our 4 books for the week.

Four books was not enough for any of us so we would read each others during the week. (Hence my crush on Major James Bigglesworth).

As I progressed through Primary School mum taught calisthenics one night week across the road from the library so that made a second weekly visit possible.

I don’t remember the library at Beverley Hills PS at all but at Doncaster Heights it was a new school so a new library. All my favourites were there Enid Blyton, Nancy Drew, Hardy Boys, Billabong etc.

I remember when I was in Grade 5 or 6 Ivan Southall visited the school library, and I think sometime before that Colin Thiele.

Then it was on to Doncaster High school – 20 portable classrooms,  a permanent library building (being used as classrooms) and some Billy Bunter books I hadn’t read.

Out of school hours I got my Library badge for Brownies, and later for Guides.

Then we left Melbourne…

