So 23 movers, shakers, shovers, makers, & me dined at Docklands on Monday night on the eve of the VALA conference.

I was a bit nervous as I’d met a couple of the people attending a couple of times (mostly at Beyond the Hype in Feb 2008). But I needn’t have worried – I timidly approached the group gathered near the registration booth and immediately was made to feel welcome.

We then headed to Berth @ Docklands for an evening of good food and good company.

There were academic librarians, school librarians, public librarians, librarians from interstate, from overseas (New Zealand) and even some non- librarians.

We introduced ourselves with our real names and our twitter names so there was a lot of “So you’re <insert twitter name here>” .

All in all it was a great night and a great ‘start’ to the conference.

