I’ve only just started playing with this but so far it looks way cool.

gmap-pedometer

It’s a pedometer style interface for google maps that lets you plan walking/cycling routes .

So far I’ve plotted all the different ways I can walk to work (and exactly how far they are). Interestingly the route I thought was shortest is actually 0.4 kms longer than the route I thought was longest – go figure.

In a non-pedometer/walking to work world I could see this being very useful for planning sightseeing or ‘places of interest type walks.

You could measure the distances using this handy dandy app rather than actually walking the walk.

If it were possible to re-label the nodes on the map it would be spectacularly useful – perhaps there’s already an app that does this? (wanders off to have a google)

gmapsale(The long march from home to school)

