Usually I try to avoid downloading stuff (esp. software) onto my pc as my hard drive is not that big and I’m wary of accidentally downloading something potentially nasty.

However I have made an exception for Mozy.

Mozy is a simple and safe way to back up all the important stuff on your computer. A copy of your data is stored in a secure, remote location for safekeeping, so that in the event of disaster your data is still retrievable.”

There are several plans available – for home users there is unlimited backup for us$4.95 per month but there is also a free version that allows you to backup 2gb of files.

Once you’ve downloaded Mozy it looks at your system and suggests what files should be backed up, and how much space that would take.

On the initial pass I was 8% over the 2gb maximum but by opting not to back up my music (itunes) I was well under the 2gb.

Mozy checked my upload speed and calculated how long the initial backup would take.

I have Mozy set to back up every evening and so far I’m very happy with it.

